top of page
  • Writer's pictureteenbellemag

Vantablack: Lamentations of a Shrike, by Saahiti Shrikant

the world grows dark under me, and my eyes search the expanse below my wings. a sign! i seek- ah, for destruction’s end. oh, Holy One, is it you that I see, in these harrowing shadows? flaming destruction sweeps the earth,

and civilization trembles under my watchful gaze.

a cry! a cry echoes- ah, in the throes of despair.

oh, Holy Spirit, do you not reside,

in these tormented voices? bleeding rivers cascade down the plains,

and my throat parches for want of peace. a hurricane! a hurricane grows- ah, the thunderous clap of the deluge.

oh, Sovereign Father, is it you that I savor,

in these red barren lands? silent skies streak the cataclysmic azure,

and the remnants of the apocalypse soak the fields. a soul! i seek- ah, the melancholy stench of death.

oh, God of Son, do you not devour my kind,

in these tragedies that lay upon your swirling tongue.


scorching sunlight lays its lips upon the earth one last time,

and the hushed wistfulness of my last song envelopes mankind. a song! i sing- ah, the sweet memory of melody impaled on woe. oh, Holy Trinity, do you not forsake me,

in these hopeless lamentations? bespoke me, oh Holy Trinity, why do you forsake us such? not a kindred being in sight, not a shrike in sight, the unrest of this wretched end stifles my soul. no songs left to sing, no souls left to find,

no hurricanes left to outrun,

no cries to be heard,

no signs to be seen.


no truth remains;

except that of death. i fly now,

brave and alone,

into the blinding seams of enlightenment. i am awakened

i am awake

I am.

 

Saahiti is a 20-year-old Literature graduate trying to find her place in the world. When she's not writing, she can be found procrastinating and listening to Spotify playlists she's made for every possible mood. She seeks solace in words and weaves stories from the befriended voices in her head, in hopes that she might be able to soothe the familiar ache in the souls of individuals who have seen the dark one too many times. Through her writing, she hopes to make people feel a little less alone and a little more understood. You can find her works at @_smudged_pages_bleeding_words_ on Instagram. You can reach her on saahitishrikant1@gmail.com / @saahitishrikant- Instagram.


Saahiti is a Regular Contributor at Teen Belle Magazine.

63 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page