top of page
  • Writer's pictureteenbellemag

Lullaby

Stupid pathetic fallacy,


Was singing


Along with me,


Not knowing


That I forgot


How to write.

Stupid pathetic fallacy


Danced & sang along


Not knowing


I have been drowning,


The last trace of tears,


Wiping itself out,


And that the last string of broken guitar,


Sobbed.


Silently.

I dropped the pen,


Just to see


How violent storm,


Outside,


Sometimes looks softer


Than us.


Humans,


Because nobody asked them


Why they cried


And smudged the kohl,


And tore the papers.


Just because


Crying was catharsis


And Aristotle never wrote about it.


The quietest corners


Of storms and hearts,


The messy table


And the evening slipping away


In between the lines,


The letters I forgot


To give you,


And the paper boats


I made


Before holding the pen


In between my lips,


To make an envelope


For the letter I wrote to you


Last night,

And the last puff you took


From the last cigarette of the box,


Before crossing the street


And the shadow


Under the lamp-posts


Dancing & shaking their heads


With the rhythm of your heart,


Suddenly,


It feels all good.


A bit more alive.


It smells of you,


And love.


Whenever I lost my words,


And let silence


Silhouette my cloudy specs,


I wrote a letter to you,


Like I did,

Three nights back.


Love,


It's time to come home.


Read a poem to me,


Tonight.


I'll sleep.

Promise.

 
25 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page